Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 8th, 2007

Shana Galen Guest Blogs

 

First of all, I want to say thank you to RRAH for having me. They’re always so supportive of me and my books, and I appreciate that more than words can say.

 

 

sgalen.jpg

 

I’m sure many of you have no idea who I am, so I want to do a quick intro. I write Regency-set historical romances for Avon Books. My latest book is BLACKTHORNE’S BRIDE. It’s my 7th book, and third in my Misadventures in Matrimony series. Some of my other historicals are GOOD GROOM HUNTING, NO MAN’S BRIDE, PRIDE AND PETTICOATS, and WHEN DASHING MET DANGER.

 

 

I also wrote chick lits for Avon under the name Shane Bolks. Those were REALITY TV BITES and THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY MEN I’VE DATED. To read more about any of these books, including excerpts, check out www.shanagalen.com

 

 

BLACKTHORNE’S BRIDE is on shelves right now. The heroine is Lady Madeleine, daughter of the Earl of Castleigh. Maddie is completely fed up with her overprotective father as well as dowry-hungry suitors pestering her with marriage proposals. She’s decided to solve both of her problems by eloping to Gretna Green with a sweet but bumbling dog breeder. Unfortunately, Maddie’s adventure-starved cousin Ashley figures out the plan and decides to crash the elopement.

In the meantime, Jack Martingale, the Marquess of Blackthorne, is having trouble with his incorrigible brother Nick. Nick has just insulted the powerful Duke of Bleven, and he’s managed to drag Jack into the feud as well. When the Black Duke shows up for retribution, his own private army in tow, the Martingale brothers don’t stick around. They hop in the first carriage they find: Maddie and Ashley’s carriage.

This is a fun, fast-paced story that’s based on a true story of a Gretna Green elopement gone awry. I tell the true story in the Author’s Note at the back of the book, but suffice it to say it involves two couples and a drunk anvil priest.

I’ve been looking forward to writing Maddie’s story because I’ve always wanted to buck the clichés and write a heroine who did not want adventure. Maddie just wants to be a wife, mother, and philanthropist. She doesn’t enjoy the risky escapades her cousins in The Spinster’s Club cook up. So of course that means Maddie has to have the biggest adventure of them all.

Jack Martingale is one of my favorite heroes. He doesn’t want to care about Maddie or his annoying brother or anyone but himself. He doesn’t want to save anyone. But no matter how hard-hearted he tries to be, he can’t make it stick. Jack’s an unwilling hero—and isn’t that just the sexiest kind?

I think you’ll enjoy BLACKTHORNE’S BRIDE. Romantic Times magazine gave it 4 ½ stars, a Top Pick. Publisher’s Weekly said, “Galen’s spirited characters, lively dialogue, breakneck pace and great sense of fun propel this smart-if-standard Regency toward a happy conclusion.”

And thanks again to RRAH for all their support. As a reward, I’d like to give you readers signed copies of my books. I’ll pick two readers who comment on this blog and one will win GOOD GROOM HUNTING and the other BLACKTHORNE’S BRIDE. Good luck!

Read Full Post »